Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Show us your sub-high end watches - Off Topic Discussions on The Fretboard

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Show us your sub-high end watches

What's Hot
So I've started to collect watches. However, as I can't afford the latest Rolex, Patek Phillipe or IWC, I'm working within my means and choosing way more affordable options. To start me off here are two modest examples I've acquired in recent months. Both £26 and £35 respectively.

I've never heard of Manis before. But I like the name, the simple design and the fact it's really clean for its age. I'm no expert but the fairly ubiquitous Felsa 1560 automatic movement loses a minute or two each day, which isn't great. However, for the price of a week's worth of high street coffee, I don't think I can complain. I think the blue aftermarket strap contrasts with the gold nicely.

The Avia I recently got from Oxfam online. A few years ago I would have turned my nose up at quartz movement. But the retro design and the red second hand against a black dial ... I actually think it's quite stylish. I don't think £35 was too bad a price to pay.

For inspiration, what watches (or recommendations) do you have that don't break the bank? Vintage or modern. Maximum cost £500 (right now that's the most I'd be willing to spend when I've saved enough to "treat" myself).
0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• That Avia is lovely, well done!
    I'm a fan of Seiko 5 watches.
    Now pour a beverage and read this https://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?h=0&f=187&t=1966393