Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Apple Carplay - Off Topic Discussions on The Fretboard

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Apple Carplay

What's Hot
BigMonkaBigMonka Frets: 1732
On Saturday I'm picking up a car which will be my first with Apple CarPlay, I've never used it before.
What wonderful new world does this open up for car journeys? Are there certain must-have apps?
Anything else I need to know?! 
Always be yourself! Unless you can be Batman, in which case always be Batman.
My boss told me "dress for the job you want, not the job you have"... now I'm sat in a disciplinary meeting dressed as Batman.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• RaymondLinRaymondLin Frets: 11229
    It has 2 main functions.

It connects to Google Maps or Waze, and your music or podcast.  It will remember where you last left off your podcast or song for example.

That's pretty much it, you can then use the screen to search etc but honestly, i don't do that because it's not really safe, i set up everything before i drive first.  It's nice to have a larger screen for the map though vs a phone.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • Congrats! CarPlay makes journeys more accurate and entertaining. Enjoy!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • darthed1981darthed1981 Frets: 10322
    I use it's cousin - Android Auto - daily.  Lets you use Waze or Google Maps instead of your built in mapping for Navigation (typically not updated after purchase, and often rubbish).