Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Did/does anyone find the "self-taught"/online route more productive than private lessons? - Technique Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Did/does anyone find the "self-taught"/online route more productive than private lessons?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• LestratcasterLestratcaster Frets: 1024

In my opinion, a song based approach for learning skills, technique and theory is not really the most efficient -  For example, I would prefer targeted exercises  to develop the technique, some theory to enable me to use it and then maybe a song to put help put it into context and practice.

I don't agree. I've used a song approach method for years and its worked with alot of learners as its puts into application the skills needed to play something musical - chord shapes, changing between them, rhythm, timing, and interaction between the guitar and other instruments. Plus they get bored of an exercise pretty quickly if they can't play anything they know.

Most of the pop artist guitarists who play live have the skill to play like machines to a click, very repetitive patterns for about 3 minutes without making a mistake. This, is in fact harder than shredding or some widdly blues solo you're free to improvise. You'd be amazed at how many first timers I see for lessons who can't actually settle down and play a disciplined pattern for 1 minute straight let alone 3.

Of course there are a couple of learners who I throw in some technical exercises on the side so it becomes a hybrid thing so a bit of both.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • thingthing Frets: 469
    Timcito said: