Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Need some Luthier advice -- Rotting Tortoise binding - Photos added - Making & Modding Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Need some Luthier advice -- Rotting Tortoise binding - Photos added

What's Hot
ESchapESchap Frets: 1427
edited September 2013 in Making & Modding

I've got an old and pretty beat up Gibson Classical guitar (1966) which I really don't want to lose, as it has such great tone and is a dream to play.

Issue is that it has Celluloid faux tortoise binding, top and back.  Of course the binding is gassing out and it seems to be getting exponentially worse these days.  The main problem is that any lacquer that is left on the binding turns to a sticky mess and reeks of ammonia, making it a pain to keep in a playable shape.

As a chemist, I know that this is not a reversible problem and also in spite of the superglue etc. "fixes" I've seen, the material will continue to degrade until it liberates itself entirely into the atmosphere (same material as old film).

So how much of a job for a skilled Luthier is it to replace the binding?  Would it be possible to do that without having to refinish the whole guitar?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• WezVWezV Frets: 15793
    edited September 2013

its not too bad a job to replace binding and usually wouldn't need much more than a bit of touch up if the rest of the process was done carefully.  

On a guitar that age you would expect to have a bit of a line in the finish between binding and wood  so you don't need to worry about getting a perfectly level finish over the new binding.  

depending on the actual condition it would go something like this:

1)Score all around binding

2)remove binding with sharp chisel or even reroute shelf compeltely if needed

3)glue on new binding

4)scrape binding level

5)refinish if needed