Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Tele jack socket recess - Making & Modding Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Tele jack socket recess

What's Hot
I recently bought an unfinished tele body that's in need of some drilling.  Most of it I'm fine with but the I'm not sure how best to go about the jack socket.

The socket I've got has a 22mm diameter and a 3mm lip and, ideally, I'd want it to sit flush to the body.  I'm hesitant to use a "normal" (masonry?) drill bit as i) I don't have any the appropriate size and ii) it just doesn't strike me as being the right tool for the job.

Do I need a couple of these things or is there something better suited to the job?

http://thumbs1.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/mjfmklH-CCV9ylcV_9uZObA.jpg
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1488
    My (Squeir) Tele, well Son's, I am a crap guitarist and certainly not luthier!

Has a curved metal plate that carries the jack. This sits proud of the body and I assume you want the plate inlet and flush with the body? Tricky and skilled job, inletting metal into wood ( Googe "gunstock lock inletting) and needs sharp chisels and patience.

If you can find a tame engineer with a CNC miller he could probably do the job in a trice and for a  modest drinkypoo?

Or, of course a good luthier!
    Dave.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • Sorry I should probably have been clearer about the shape of the jack socket.  It's one of these

http://www.axetec.co.uk/axetec_media/jptl03_tele_recessed_jack_550_2.gif

I'm thinking two concentric holes will do the job.  One at 22mm and a shallow one at 25mm to take the lip.  Just wondering what drill bit is best suited to the job.  I certainly don't want to start breaking out the chisels.