Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). HS2 Birmingham to Manchester scrapped. - Off Topic Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

HS2 Birmingham to Manchester scrapped.

What's Hot

Comments

• exocetexocet Frets: 1865
    edited October 2023
    I love large infrastructure...don't know why, I'm not a Civil Engineer but I marvel when I see big stuff done well. It appears to me that they completely failed to decide upon the correct  "selling point" as to why it was being built I.e. "capacity first, with speed coming as a secondary benefit". I still don't understand why they didn't procure double decker trains to run on the line - a missed opportunity?

What I don't know is what money was already committed/ spent on the Northern link. Have they already purchased the land / impacted properties? If so, they should keep hold of that- by all means rent / lease it back but surely someone will need to finish the project at some point in next 30 years and the price of land is only going one way.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • nero1701 said:
    It was just an exercise in filling the pockets of rich contractors , it’s now left unfinished & they’ve made lots of money . They need to be held accountable  
    In my mind contractors are employed to provide a paid service, they generally do as instructed no more no less. I'm not sure how they are accountable?

Can you share your explanation of how they are accountable? 

Not a dig or a taunt, genuinely interested in your thinking of it.
    My view is that lots of these contracts are gained through being mutually beneficial to whoever procures them . Look at the thing Gove was involved in during Brexit with shipping & transport and the scandals of PPE contracts to people with no experience a lot of this public money is taken and never heard of again and we are left with half or less of a solution.