Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). True oil. - Guitar Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

True oil.

What's Hot
bluecatbluecat Frets: 429
Will it be ok to refinish a maple fret board with true oil? I have no knowledge of the product, or should I use something else.
Many thanks.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• Fingers657Fingers657 Frets: 70
    edited October 2023
    Yeah you shouldn’t have any problems using it on a fretboard that has nothing on it..
    Just don’t flood it .
    put it on and rub it in and off.
    some people say it can get in under frets and lift them.
    These days I just use Crimson Guitar Products on my fretboards .
    I also use there guitar tools .
    Probably because I’ve been brainwashed over the years Watching to many of Ben Crowes guitar building videos and live stream guitar builds. =)

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • I’ve only used tru oil once on a maple board and that was about 15 years ago (it’s still going strong). I applied it with a cotton pad and did about 25 extremely thin coats, cutting back with 800 grit after every 5 or so. Looks great and is somewhere between gloss and satin.

I suspect Osmo might give you a similar level of protection with much easier application, but @Roland will be the one to ask in that regard.
  • I'd be careful using OSMO oils. It needs to penertrate deeper to give the protection. Often a maple fingerboard will be sanded to a much higher grit than osmo will soak into. I'd go with true oil or something equally as thin
  • bluecatbluecat Frets: 429
    It is really only on certain parts of the board where string bending has worn away the original finish.
  • ghadghad Frets: 35
    edited October 2023