Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Mortgages - would you pay it all off if you could? - Off Topic Discussions on The Fretboard

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Mortgages - would you pay it all off if you could?

What's Hot
For those who have a mortgage - if you had the means to pay off your mortgage now, would there be any reason NOT to?  

My wife and I are in a position where, at a stretch, we could pay our mortgage off completely.  I'm no expert on mortgages but it seems like a no-brainer.  Only thing that concerns me is I think our credit scores will drop and if we want to move house one day and borrow again, that might affect how much we can borrow?  Our current mortgage rate is also still pre-interest rise but due to expire in a couple of years so the annual interest we pay isn't so bad yet, but it's still interest paid.

Are there any other downsides to repaying early that I'm not seeing?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 24852
    edited September 2023
    What rate are you on? 

Chances are if you're on a pre-2022 rate you can get a fixed deposit investment for a year or 2 at a much higher rate and make some money. e.g. Lloyds currently gives a 12m fixed rate of 5.5% for anything over 10k

Assuming a 100k balance on 2% mortgage you'd pay 2k in interest* and could receive 5.5k back, so you're up 3.5k for almost no effort. Rates will probably still be high in a year's time when that finishes, so you could do it again. Obviously that money is tied up for the fixed period, but if it goes into your mortgage it's tied up as well.