Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Fender Fat 50's Strat Pickups,your opinion / experience. - Guitar Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Fender Fat 50's Strat Pickups,your opinion / experience.

What's Hot
KevSKevS Frets: 309
I have these in a New Fender FSR Strat I done a trade in for..
Sonic Blue,Roast Maple Neck/Fingerboard..
I'm not really bothered either way about the Roast Maple/Roast Chicken Flavour Neck..
They sound a bit lacking lows/all highs/mid scooped and seem very low output compared to my other Strat single coils..
They work well enough when boosting my level with a compressor,but do seem lower output than usual..
They lack life and that little bit sizzle..
I know most traditional Strat Pickups are not high output etc,,just in case someone responds with that answer.
I have plenty of experience with The Strats,I went to school with Noah...
I'm not really a fan of high output Strat Pickups,,I find those murky and muddy..
I like the pre Fat 50s Delta Tone Staggered ones that were in the American Series / Standard Strats before they changed to the Fat 50's..The Fat 50s seem very different,like radically so..

I am wondering if I am doing something wrong,I don't want the pole pieces pulling on the strings from being too close..
Am I dialing them in wrong...I have them at the recommended space from the strings..

I do get pretty fussy about pickups,which doesn't make my life any easier..lol..
I don't think I have saw a bad review for Fat 50's though...

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• I’ll just recommend the Lollar Blonde Set and leave it at that. I’ve had myriad Strat pups, but nothing has ever  matched them. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter