Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Birmingham City Council gone bust (failed ERP implementation) - Off Topic Discussions on The Fretboard

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Birmingham City Council gone bust (failed ERP implementation)

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• CHRISB50CHRISB50 Frets: 4001
    edited September 2023
    CHRISB50 said:
    I’m an SAP consultant. 

I’ve seen projects drag (particularly implementations), and costs increase, but never anything like this. 19m to 100m is totally mad. 

I remember the BBC canned an SAP implementation as it was taking too long and cost too much. 

Someone had their head in the sand. 
    Me too.
    I actually put the original SAP system in at Birmingham back in the 90s and they were a good reference customer as it was a successful implementation.
    I wonder why the changed?

Sure, I thought I could remember you mentioning in the past you worked with SAP. What type of role?

I've been a functional SD consultant for almost 25 years now.

I've not really known anyone to move from SAP to Oracle. 

Once the investment (time and money) is made to implement SAP, it seems a strange choice to move to another platform. 

I can't help about the shape I'm in, I can't sing I ain't pretty and my legs are thin

But don't ask me what I think of you, I might not give the answer that you want me to

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • CHRISB50 said:
    CHRISB50 said:
    I’m an SAP consultant. 

I’ve seen projects drag (particularly implementations), and costs increase, but never anything like this. 19m to 100m is totally mad.