Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). 'Arm recording' in GarageBand - Studio & Recording Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

'Arm recording' in GarageBand

What's Hot
Hi

I'm recording audio tracks from my Model:Cycles into GarageBand (GB). I want each of the 8 tracks (Bass, snare etc) in a separate track in GB. I'm new to this.

I can mute the 7 tracks, that's all good. I can only seem to try to coordinate 'Play' on M:C and 'Record' on GB which is fine but then the tracks don't always line up. I can move them but there are complex rhythms.

It would be simple if there was 'arm record' which then records when I press "Play' on the M:C.

Does this exist in GB? Does it exist in any DAW? I've searched wen including manuals but cant find out. Any help gratefully received.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• Why not just have a four count or something and then record? That’s what I do. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • jackiojackio Frets: 130
    Tried but I seem to be micro-inaccurate. 
    I was hoping there was a function like sampling on the digitakt, or on a zoom recorder
  • jackio said:
    Tried but I seem to be micro-inaccurate. 
    Do you have a latency issue? You an always just drag the track into the right place if it drifts. 
    Thanks @theatreanchor. ;Not that I know and shouldn't given the kit is ok. I can try and improve my technique with practice, my question is though, is there a way to auto arm GB (or any DAW) so that pressing play starts recording? Maybe I'm asking something stupid, probably am but it would seem a sensible thing to have on a DAW