Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). When to level the freeboard - Making & Modding Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

When to level the freeboard

What's Hot
Hello!

I’m new to building guitars…and only just bolting bits together naively so please excuse the basic question.

I’ve seen a few approaches to dealing with buzzy frets. Some seem to level the fretboard with a sanding bar and others seem to just approach individual uneven frets with a fret file.

My question is how you decide which approach to take and why? Do you do this at different stages of a build, or is it case dependant?

I have some buzzing on a guitar I’ve bolted together so I’m trying to work out what my order approach to maintenance should be. I get that there is a trade off with action and relief in the neck, but what happens next when you can’t get the relief you want, and the action you want, and no buzzes. Where do you start filing?

Thanks again.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• DanielsguitarsDanielsguitars Frets: 3097
    tFB Trader
    Check how straight the neck is first, get a bit of relief in it then measure how high the action is at the 12th, I'm assuming you know the basics with something ready made.

My approach to  new build is make the fretboard, that's radiused and slotted etc this gets glued on your tapered neck then I flat the fretboard and build it up on the neck, I'm simplifying it because it's different for different builds, generally bolt on necks are much easier.
    www.danielsguitars.co.uk
    (formerly customkits)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • vizviz Frets: 10211
    edited August 2023

When to level the fretboard
    If Politics Economics gets any worse we should probably consider it
    Paul_C said: People never read the signature bit.