Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). K and K Pure Mini - plus and minus - Making & Modding Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

K and K Pure Mini - plus and minus

This post is both praise for a splendid piece of kit and a caution to anyone without a grandson with slim wrists.

When I started playing in a few open mic events, using my Little Martin, LX1. It's a great instrument for the job, a decent sound, small size and remarkably robust. For some of the larger events, it lacks sound output so I decided to put a pickup in it. Unwisely I chose an inexpensive Chinese device that did the job, but badly. Recently I found myself able to afford a better system and after some research decided to invest in a K and K Pure Mini system.

For readers unfamiliar with the system, it consists of three thin 1cm diameter discs wired together. The discs are stuck in specific places beneath the saddle inside the body. The manufacturer rightly specifies gel super glue which is not included in the £100+ cost of the pickup. These disc pickups terminate in a standard output jack socket that's fitted in place of the strap stud. The output socket is easy – I've installed many as part of the restoration of guitars I do for my wife, an artist, who uses them as her canvas. Getting the discs inside is anything but easy.

The K and K company supplies an ingenious but fairly impractical Heath Robinson gadget including a golf tee that must have cost less than the box it comes in, and which is frankly more trouble than it's worth. After my wife and I had spent a frustrating hour managing to spread a considerable amount of super glue around inside the guitar but fail to fix he discs in place, we enlisted our 12-year-old guitar-playing grandson to do the job. By then we'd abandoned the installation gadget except for the golf tee of which we stuck two through the holes in the bridge as a guide.