Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). NAGD - Acoustics Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

NAGD

What's Hot
munckeemunckee Frets: 11457
The story behind this new acoustic day is that a couple of years ago I tried a J200 and a J100 walnut in a guitar shop, theJ100 was nicer sounding and when talking to the owner he said he had an old guild at home which was better than both of them.  I ended up buying the J100, had it for a year and decided it was too much money to have invested in an acoustic when I'm a hobbyist and play electric much more than acoustic.

What the J100 had which I liked was just a great bassy cellolike full sound.  What it didn't have was punch for want of a better word.  We bought my daughter an acoustic years ago and tried every guitar under £500 in PMT and ended up with an ugly but really punchy sounding washburn, doesn't have the beautiful sound of the gibson but is great.

I've tried loads of mid priced guitars since selling the gibson, the new epiphone inspired by gibsons, the G series gibsons, cheap Martins, Taylors, Sigmas, Yamahas but nothing really grabbed me apart from a J45 studio but was over my budget.

I asked the guy from the shop about the guild he had mentioned to me, he said he bought it in 1989 ex demo.  It's had a hard life there is a repair on the side and there is  damage on the top where he wears a heavy bracelet that has indented it.  He doesn't do much acoustically anymore so said I could try it.

As soon as I played it I knew I was buying it it has most of the full sound of the J100 and the punch of the washburn just sounds brilliant and due to the condition hasn't cost me much for a US built acoustic.  It's a 1988 D25 spruce top rather than the normal mahogany top just immensely enjoyable to play.

https://i.imgur.com/dlqjhC9.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/SrmTHZc.jpg
https://imgur.com/K08tAEo
https://i.imgur.com/7KZjcrG.jpg