Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Round core SPUNG! - Acoustics Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Round core SPUNG!

What's Hot
TanninTannin Frets: 4394
Now I'd have thought I knew how to put a string on a guitar. I've been doing it for 50 years now and reckon I've nearly got the hang of it. 

And I know that with round core strings you have to fit them and bring them up to tension before you cut them. (Hell, I do this anyway, with any string, out of lifelong habit.)

And in recent times I've gone overboard and even taken to putting a right-angle bend in the string with pliers before cutting, just in case. 

But despite doing everything properly as-per-spec I'm still getting too many round core strings going bad on me. 

I've never been one to wind more than the minimum necessary number of turns on the peghead, enough so that it holds pitch, any more than that is just a waste of time. Is this the problem?

What else can I do? 

(Apart, of course, from not using round core strings. Which, come to think of it, wouldn't be so hard. There are lots of round cores which are superior to the average mass-produced hex core string (Elixir, Ball, D'Addario, Fender), but then, in my string adventures over the last few years I've found several hex core strings which play every bit as nicely as the better round cores - Galli LS, Phillipe Bousett Acoustique, Santa Cruz, Adamas Composite, to name a few -so simply forgetting about round cores isn't out of the question.)

Anyway, what tips does the Fretboard brains trust have for me?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• droflufdrofluf Frets: 3144
    AT the risk of teaching you to suck eggs I follow the video on Newton's page: https://newtonestrings.com/do-not-cut-newtone-strings/?v=79cba1185463
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter