Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Archtop players? - Acoustics Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Archtop players?

What's Hot
ALRALR Frets: 75
I was wondering if anyone else here plays an archtop? I got an Epiphone Masterbuilt Century Deluxe about 4 years ago as a sort of offbeat purchase to get me to think out of the box for songwriting. I love it! I've recently been learning some jazz/blues chord melody on Truefire with it.

Who else has one, what have you got, what do you play on it - and have you ever tried it with flatwounds?
My music blog:
http://alrmusicblog.blogspot.com/ (updated Feb 2023)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• TanninTannin Frets: 4394
    No, but I've been thinking about getting one, on and off, for several years. Little by little, the urge has grown stronger. One day, sooner or later, I dare say I'll go with it. 

My playing has been trending in that jazz/blues chord melody direction for a while now, and I've taken to usually having a set of flatwounds on one or other of my flattops. 

Mind you, acoustic archtops are not something you see everywhere, they are quite uncommon. Most of the archtops I see are designed for electric use and not fully playable unamplified. 

PS: I love Galli Jazz Flat strings. https://www.stringsandbeyond.com/galli-acoustic-guitar-strings-ajf1252-medium-12-52.html

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • joeWjoeW Frets: 387
    2 of my archtops are loud enough to be played unplugged (have floating pu’s).   Sounds great to record the acoustic and run a separate channel with pu’s using an OX.   I like big round pure nickel strings for acoustic archtops in a solo context - flats are good for Freddie Green thunk 
  • ALRALR Frets: 75