Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Roland gr-33 - Other Instruments Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Roland gr-33

What's Hot
Does anyone know how to access the synth sounds from a GR-33 but using a midi keyboard (instead of the guitar unit)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• KeefyKeefy Frets: 2064
    MIDI cable from keyboard out to guitar synth in should do it. I had a GR30 and I seem to recall that working.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • DCS222DCS222 Frets: 45
    Cheers fella, that’s what i thought at first but The gr33 has a weird 13 pin guitar input (i presume to piggyback the guitar analogue signal alongside the midi pick up signal) i have no knowledge of how to splice a standard midi into a Roland 13 pin cable
  • BahHumbugBahHumbug Frets: 328
    You would plug a MIDI cable into the MIDI in socket on the back of the GR-33, it has nothing to do with the guitar input socket.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
    The 13 pin guitar cable isn’t actually MIDI - it’s hexaphonic.
    BahHumbug said:
    You would plug a MIDI cable into the MIDI in socket on the back of the GR-33, it has nothing to do with the guitar input socket.
    I looked at that and thought it was the obvious answer, but reading the manual (trying to) I can’t see how to use that input to be the sound creator... it seems to be used for switching/control duties. Admittedly, the manual goes above my head to read when I don’t have a unit in front of me to tinker with... hence my bringing it to this illustrious forum to see if anyone had done it, or could tell me how to.

https://www.roland.com/uk/support/by_product/gr-33/owners_manuals/
  • thermionicthermionic Frets: 8909