Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Bowie's most underrated or under appreciated song? - Music Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Bowie's most underrated or under appreciated song?

What's Hot
LPManicLPManic Frets: 1005
I am in a Bowie kick at the minute. Trying (the emphasis on trying) to learn some of his songs on piano.

I am a massive fan of Absolute Beginners (1986). Bowie has said that it is one of his favourite songs that he wrote. But you rarely see it mentioned. Even went to no.2 in the UK.

The BBC 2000 version is fantastic (I loved that Bowie at the Beeb release with the bonus CD in 2000).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4tThlKubIA

Any other good shouts out there?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• KeefyKeefy Frets: 2064
    I’m a long-time massive Bowie fan and play in a tribute band but Bowie’s catalogue is so huge that it’s almost impossible to pick one. I’m going to nominate Always Crashing In The Same Car from Low (my joint favourite album along with Ziggy Stardust).

FWIW we play a version of Absolute Beginners based on that BBC performance.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • GassageGassage Frets: 30192
    Absolute Beginners is a masterpiece.

For me- Fascination off YA. Literally the most mid 70s feel- defines that era.

Another personal fave- Bang Bang, off Glass Spiders.

And 1984 of Di Dogs- just for Dennis Davies' drumming.

*An Official Foo-Approved guitarist since Sept 2023.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • slugeliseslugelise Frets: 106
    Everything on reality, especially Pablo Picasso 
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • barnstormbarnstorm Frets: 557
    LPManic said: