Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Burns bad habit? - Technique Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Burns bad habit?

What's Hot
Newbie here.  I keep resting my right hand on the (tremelo style) bridge and distorting the tuning.  Is this a bad habit that I have picked up on my accoustic and any suggestions?  I am currently trying to support my right hand by resting my little finger on the plectrum guard.  It may self correct as my strength and technique improves.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• What type of guitar is it? I assume something stratty?
    The Assumptions - UAE party band for all your rock & soul desires
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • sweepysweepy Frets: 4005
    Down to technique I’m afraid, you can rest on even the floppiest Floyd and not get tuning issues 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • What type of guitar is it? I assume something stratty?

Yup!  Strat style Burns!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • I had some nerve damage to my neck/shoulder, so my right hand can sometimes shake (one reason why I need to use it or lose it).
  • A pic of the open "rest" area that isn't a rest!

• RolandRoland Frets: 8108
    Strumit said:
    … any suggestions?
    A couple of ideas:
    1. Learn to play with your forearm resting on the edge of the guitar body, instead of resting your hand on the bridge.
    2. Play a fixed bridge guitar.
    3. Practice using a lighter touch. Palm muting is an important part of playing.
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • Roland said:
    Strumit said:
    … any suggestions?