Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Slide strings gauges - Technique Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Slide strings gauges

What's Hot
mattacjonesmattacjones Frets: 472
edited December 2022 in Technique
Hi, I'm no expert at slide but been doing more of it recently. Currently using a tele with 11 top strings, tuned to open A, 9.5" radius. I picked A to get more tension in the strings. However, I do find the top strings still allow the slide to hit the fret board when hammering on/off. Also, difficult to get the same volume when playing top two strings (competed to 3rd 4th).

So, is this just a question of more practice/refinement or should I go up a gauge, to say 12 top? Slide is brass, not very heavy. 

Any thoughts? 

Cheers 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• mgawmgaw Frets: 4979
    I would stick on heavier strings and see how you go,  I played loads of slide a few years back and found that the knocking against the frets etc was technique rather than thickness

me wife agrees
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • I play open A.,13, 15, 22 plain, 30, 42, 54. I have even gone to 15, 17 on the top two strings.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • RolandRoland Frets: 8108
    How about raising the saddles?
    Tree recycler, and guitarist with  https://www.undercoversband.com/.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • Saddles is def worth a try. I'll do that tomorrow!
  • LewyLewy Frets: 3795