Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Starting - Studio & Recording Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Starting

What's Hot
I want to start a small recording studio, not professional, but soon I will have a lot of time on my hands, I'm not very technical, so can you take that into consideration, any advice, cheers.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• WhistlerWhistler Frets: 270
    Who will the studio be for? Just you or for friends or for anyone who wants to hire the studio?

What budget do you have (or hope to have)?

Do you have a place in mind? Do you own a suitable building?

How many rooms are you thinking of? Live room(s)? Control room? Store room? Machine room? Bathroom (or at least a toilet)? Kitchen?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33263
    edited November 2022
    DaveJames said:
    I want to start a small recording studio, not professional, but soon I will have a lot of time on my hands, I'm not very technical, so can you take that into consideration, any advice, cheers.
    This is sort of like saying 'I want to be a surgeon but I don't like the sight of blood'.

Building a recording studio is, by definition, a technical endeavour.
    That doesn't mean it has to be *all technical*.

Start with a computer, a DAW, an audio interface and some speakers/monitors.

Computer: Mac or PC. They are all capable if they are modern.
    DAW: Reaper, Studio One or Logic (if on Mac).
    Audio Interface: Focusrite Scarlett or anything similarly priced. If you want to track acoustic drums then you will need something that does 8 channels of simultaneous recording. Otherwise stereo in and out should be fine.
    Monitors: Yamaha HS5 or HS7 or something similarly priced.

You will also need some microphones if recording acoustic instruments.