Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Another Shoot-Out: The Mighty Nordvangs... - FX Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Another Shoot-Out: The Mighty Nordvangs...

What's Hot
WazmeisterWazmeister Frets: 8918
edited July 2022 in FX
Next up on my shoot-out campaign, is between 2 Nordvangs; the Nordvang Gravity vs the '83 Drive.

I'm fairly new to the Nordvang range, having heard about them in very favourable reviews, and on here and TGP. My gas and interest were kindly fuelled by @Varan, who actually lent me the 83 - probably knowing that I was odds-on to buy it

In use, I'm trialing these 2 with a Two Rock Studio Signature, a 70th Anniversary Broadcaster, and a Masterbuilt '63 Strat; and comparing them to a KOT.

Background

Producing each pedal by hand and favouring a ‘quality over quantity’ approach, Nordvang uses the very best full-size components possible – including NOS germanium diodes, Vishay metal film resistors, Wima capacitors, Pure Tone jacks, Carling footswitches and Vimex sealed potentiometers. All of which explains the high prices… and the long waiting lists.

The packaging alone offers an insight into the whole quality ethos of the Nordvang range. A lovely robust box, with studs on the outside, and a wonderful hinged system. Like the very best effects, the love and detail of the packaging is reflected in the build, and these are nice pedals to 'own'.

These are superbly hand-made; just check out the insides below of the '83;

Nordvang '83 Drive

Danish designer Henrik Nordvang produces a range of dual and triple pedals based around various combinations of Klon, Blues Breaker and Tube Screamer circuits. The ’83 Drive features an original ‘black box’ Blues Breaker-style circuit in side A, and a Klon type in side B… with a few refinements such as switchable pedal order and different clipping options.