Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Vibrato exercises - need some tips. - Technique Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Vibrato exercises - need some tips.

What's Hot
DodgeDodge Frets: 1296
Ok - I've been playing for something like 25 years or so (self taught), and I'm fairly happy with my vibrato feel so I've never really thought much about it until a pal (maybe an ex-pal now!) pointed out that my finger vibrato is fine, if I bend and vibrato towards the top string, it's fine but if I bend towards the bass strings, I always reach for the trem (yes I know) bar, or don't apply any vibrato at all.  I'd never noticed.

So I'm making a concerted effort to push to bend towards the bass side and apply my vibrato technique, and I've discovered I've basically got zero control.  I hit the pitch accurately, but my vibrato frequency is wayward (generally way faster than normal), I can't control the return to  pitch and I now hate myself.

Has anyone got any decent exercises to try before I sell up and take up knitting?  It' reallyu feels like I need to unlearn...  Maybe an hour or so with a teacher might be beneficial.

Cheers all.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• vizviz Frets: 10211
    edited July 2022
    The thing most people point to is that you should swivel your hand round the pivot at the point where the bass of your 1st finger touches the fretboard. 

In other words, don't try and bend the string upwards towards the ceiling by moving your hand perpendicularly to the fretboard in an upwards direction. Instead, swivel your hand so that the tip(s) of the relevant finger(s) move upwards, in an angular motion. Then by unswivelling and swivelling, you get the vibrato.
    Paul_C said: People never read the signature bit.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • LewyLewy Frets: 3795