Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Universal Audio - Dream ‘65 - FX Reviews Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Universal Audio - Dream ‘65

AlbertCAlbertC Frets: 855
edited July 2022 in FX Reviews
I record exclusively at home and because of noise limitations, I can’t mic an amp. Instead I’ve been using a Strymon Iridium for the last two years and occasionally an HX Stomp for DI recording. I like the Iridium’s simplicity and generally prefer the sound of it to the Stomp. Both units are very useable but I’ve never been totally satisfied with either in terms of getting a really convincing amp tone.

Having read about and watched some demoes of UA’s 3 new amp-sim pedals, I was intrigued enough to give one a go, so I ordered the Dream ’65. 

I've been using the pedal for about a week now, I’m really impressed with how it sounds. I’ve never played through an actual Fender Deluxe Reverb so I can’t tell you if it accurately emulates one but regardless of this, the Dream ‘65 does produce a fabulous tone. To my ears, it definitely does a better job of sounding and feeling like a proper amp than either the Iridium or Stomp.

The Iridium with its three amps and particularly the Stomp give you a lot more in terms of options, but for me, it’s all about getting the best convincing tone and this is where the UA is outstanding. For what I do, I don’t need 100s of different amp types. I just want one really good amp tone that works for me in most circumstances - the same as for people who just own one real amp.