Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Band in a Box - Studio & Recording Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Band in a Box

What's Hot
Does anybody use band in a box as a compositional tool to get ideas together and what do we think of it ..
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• HootsmonHootsmon Frets: 15657
    Had BIAB 2012 and used as a band for noodling....great
    tae be or not tae be
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • WhistlerWhistler Frets: 270
    I have been using it since 1993 and still do.

The positives from my experience:
    1. Help with songwriting, getting my basic thoughts down quickly.
    2. For making backing tracks over which I can learn and rehearse songs I need to learn.
    3. PG Music has not pressured me to update more often. In 28 years I have only updated to a newer version 3 times - each time I bought a new computer and so upgraded at the same time.

The negatives from my experience:
    1. It is a Windows program that has always been ported to the Mac outside of Apple Developer guidelines but it works.
    2. Each update is expensive for such minor updates. The program has not improved so much as much, just more recorded sounds are added.
    3. If you export your BIAB files to import into your DAW, any time signature other than 4/4 doesn't work.
  • BarneyBarney Frets: 598
    Hootsmon said:
    Had BIAB 2012 and used as a band for noodling....great
    Whistler said:
    I have been using it since 1993 and still do.

The positives from my experience:
    1. Help with songwriting, getting my basic thoughts down quickly.
    2. For making backing tracks over which I can learn and rehearse songs I need to learn.