Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Open Mics - Like & Dislikes! - Live Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Open Mics - Like & Dislikes!

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• DazzaDazza Frets: 90
    HAL9000 said:
    I’ve been to some where there is time limit rather than a number-of-songs limit on performers. Stops people playing three songs that are each the length of PF’s Echoes.

I actually went to something on Sunday where the microphone shields were changed after every performer - presumably to be covid compliant. 
    Totally! Time limit also the other option if it creeps beyond the lengthy 3 song limit, need a time out sign! The shields we have covered but glad you picked up on it, nice to know others are doing it too.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • are there any open jam sessions in london, I'm a guitarist and haven't tried to jam live spontaneosuly before, would be agood experience I think, let me know if you guys know of good ones thnaks
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • chomer75chomer75 Frets: 6
    edited September 2021
    Deleted - found answers on another thread!
  • Open_GOpen_G Frets: 135
    I love the openness and the inclusiveness that comes with some I’ve been to. I’ve found long term friends through them, formed bands through them and learned a heap about what songs do and don’t work well with an acoustic. 

I don’t like the number of people who don’t really prepare properly and take a book of chords and lyrics and mumble through songs in Ill suited keys, and poor timing. 
  • Jimbro66Jimbro66 Frets: 2394
    Some open mic peeves:
    • The ‘star performer’ who turns up mid evening and expects to play straight away. They do their 3 songs then immediately leave because they’re not even slightly interested in hearing anyone else.