Query failed: connection to localhost:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Esus2b5 - Theory Discussions on The Fretboard
UNPLANNED DOWNTIME: 12th Oct 23:45

Esus2b5

ElxElx Frets: 408
Can someone help me please with the theory behind this chord please?

I know that a sus2 chord has its 3rd lowered one step, which makes the E triad in this case E, F sharp and B

Now, a David Bowie song "If you can see me" (from the new album which is brilliant BTW) lists this chord with the following fingering, low string to high, open E, C, F sharp, C and E again. Where the fuck is the flat 5 here?

I am really frustrated as I am self taught and just when I think I have learned something about how chords are made I come across something like this… :(

Many thanks!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter

Comments

• bigjonbigjon Frets: 680
    The C is a #5, not a b5 - it's either wrongly labelled or else the chord should actually be
    0143x2 (or 0123x2 which would also be Esus2b5 and slightly more playable)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Twitter
  • frankusfrankus Frets: 4719
    Elx said:
    Can someone help me please with the theory behind this chord please?

I know that a sus2 chord has its 3rd lowered one step, which makes the E triad in this case E, F sharp and B

Now, a David Bowie song "If you can see me" (from the new album which is brilliant BTW) lists this chord with the following fingering, low string to high, open E, C, F sharp, C and E again. Where the fuck is the flat 5 here?

I am really frustrated as I am self taught and just when I think I have learned something about how chords are made I come across something like this… :(

Many thanks!
    It could be an inversion (usually the E would then be the 3rd of a C maj type chord) - does it sound major or minor?
    A sig-nat-eur? What am I meant to use this for ffs?! Is this thing recording?
  • ElxElx Frets: 408